Supreme Court Inaction Forces Gay Marriage in Conservative States

Yesterday the Supreme Court decided to reject appeals from the states of Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin on the gay marriage issue. Those five states had all appealed lower court rulings that would in essence force the states to recognize same sex marriages. The non-ruling also effects the citizens of six other states – Colorado, Kansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, West Virginia and Wyoming – who have similar bans on gay marriage but are under the same federal judicial circuits as the other five states.

What this means is that gay marriage is now legal in 30 states and the District of Columbia.

Watch as Fox News’ Judge Andrew Napolitano explains what it all means…


The views expressed in this opinion article are solely those of their author and are not necessarily either shared or endorsed by

About the author


Join the conversation!

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.

Send this to a friend