Elizabeth Warren Wins Award for “Wasteful Spender” of the Year

The current liberal rock star du jour, Elizabeth Warren, has just been given a BIG Award… but it’s probably not one she’s happy to hear about. A Government Waste Watchdog group (which routinely calls out members of BOTH parties) has named Elizabeth Warren as it’s most wasteful official (technically “Porker of the Year” for her extraordinary talent for waste.

Citizens Against Government Waste awarded Democratic Sen. Elizabeth Warren “Porker of the Year,” for her “inane” suggestion that the financially struggling U.S. Postal Service should start acting as a bank.

CAGW, a non-profit dedicated to eliminating government waste, gives the award annually to the lawmaker, government official, or political candidate who has shown the most “blatant disregard” for taxpayers that year. Warren won over six other candidates with 34 percent of the vote in a public online poll.

She won the award because in 2014 she suggested the USPS fix its financial troubles by rebranding itself as a bank. If USPS offered basic bill paying, check cashing and small loans, it could make enough money to provide those services and shape up its finances.

It could “make a critical difference for millions of Americans who don’t have basic banking services because there are almost no banks or bank branches in their neighborhoods,” she wrote in an op-ed published by the Huffington Post.

The USPS has been on the Government Accountability Office’s annual High Risk List since 2009, because it “continues to face great uncertainty and risk related to its financial condition.”

CAGW said Warren’s suggestion showed “blatant disregard” for taxpayers, in a statement Thursday. “For her supremely inane idea to allow the USPS to take on financial services under its current flawed and bloated management structure in order to chase profits, while setting the stage for another enormous taxpayer bailout, Sen. Elizabeth Warren is CAGW’s 2014 Porker of the Year.”

Leading Porker in a Supporting Role went to Consumer Finance Protection Bureau Director Richard Cordray, with 29 percent. Honorable Porker awards went to Republican Sen. Lisa Murkowski, Republican Rep. Mike Rogers, Democratic Rep. Anna Eshoo, and former U.S. Chief Information Officer Steven VanRoekel.




The views expressed in this opinion article are solely those of their author and are not necessarily either shared or endorsed by EagleRising.com

About the author

Onan Coca

Onan is the Editor-in-Chief at Romulus Marketing. He's also the managing editor at Eaglerising.com, Constitution.com and the managing partner at iPatriot.com. You can read more of his writing at Eagle Rising.
Onan is a graduate of Liberty University (2003) and earned his M.Ed. at Western Governors University in 2012. Onan lives in Atlanta with his wife and their three wonderful children.

Join the conversation!

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.

Don't Miss Out!!

Get your daily dose of Eagle Rising by entering your email address below.

Our Privacy Policy has been updated to support the latest regulations.Click to learn more.×
Don't miss a thing. Sign up for our email newsletter to become an insider.

Send this to a friend